findingexpression

awe, humility, hope and a few other things I might notice

Winter DIY projects

2 Comments

Happy Solstice!
I recently heard a northern Vermonter say that it has been winter since fall and it will be winter until summer. So, the date of Dec 21st only marks the longest day of the year here up north, but not necessarily the darkest nor greyest nor certainly the coldest.
Rather than lighting a candle or some meditation on the light, I finally did something I have wanted to do for about 20 years.
I made a gingerbread house. So I just went at it, internet instructions in hand, with repeated consultations to veganize things and then I didn’t have corn syrup so more instructions, and for not being too well planned it turned out solid if not crafty. From another perspective you could say it looks like a haunted gingerbread house, but it’s all mine.
I made the gingerbread, candy coated the cashews with reduced beet water for fuschia and used tumeric for orange. What a mess! I ran out out of the “mortar” of my vegan frosting and made my own sugar syrup twice. This just goes to show that DIY is not always the best way, but still fun.
I will need help to eat it of course. Although the ingredients were mostly healthy, based on what we had on hand; nuts, raisins, dried cranberries, dates, etc. The icing coats all of it
in sticky sweetness. The fuschia looks like it should be so tasty.

I will build again and I hope to have some friends or family with me next time. With a little advice on how to do miter cuts and more frosting on hand I think we can do a lot better than
this…
IMG_0016

IMG_0017

But wait, there’s more.
Other recent DIY projects that were, ahem, more productive than well made;
pajama bottoms- I did some patch work to make up for the fact that I didn’t have enough material. Let’s just say I won’t be wearing these out to the mailbox.
Deodorant- I was sick of paying $9 for aluminum-free stuff or “crystals” that only portended my inevitable stinkiness by 11am. Turned out pretty well actually, but then again it is on average about 10 degrees F (-12 C for my metric friends) before the wind chill.
My own refrigerator chart conversion table of F to C and C to F. An absolute necessity. Sent hubby off with a two pager version (he needs large print these days).
Lip balm- this meant just stuffing room temperature coconut oil into my mostly used lip balm stick. Works well, until summer or 75 F, whichever comes last.
Seasonal decorations for the door- this involved cross country skiing, a backpack and finding a variety of downed trees. Very few trees were injured in this endeavor. At least I already had the skiis.
Call me a crazy nutball environmentalist anti-captilistic cheapskate, but I feel a certain attitude of independence and resourceful ingenuity and more than a little humble for the results of my efforts. If nothing else, I will laugh at myself all winter long.

2 thoughts on “Winter DIY projects

  1. Yes, crafty, ingenuous. Quite the bohemian Gingerbread house.

Leave a Reply

